‘Abbott Elementary’ Emmy Nominees, Niecy Nash-Betts, Jessica Williams Among 2023 AAFCA TV Awards Winners

The Fifth Annual Association of African American Film Critics (AAFCA) seems to be aligning itself somewhat with this year’s Emmy nominations in recognizing black talent both in front of and behind the camera. ABC’s “Abbott Elementary” and its creator star Quinta Brunson scooped awards for Best TV Comedy and Best TV Script (the latter of which won an Emmy in 2022), Niecy Nash-Betts scooped the award for Best TV Performance (Female) and “Shrinking” Award Star Jessica Williams, who earned her first Emmy nomination last week, received the Breakout Star Award.

Other winners included the highly acclaimed but still Emmy-less “P-Valley,” winner of Best TV Drama and Best TV Performance (Male) for actors J. Alphonse Nicholson and Nicco Annan, Netflix’s “Mo” took the award for Best New Program. , and limited series honors went to Peacock’s “The Best Man: The Final Chapters,” reuniting cast members like Terrence Howard, Morris Chestnut and Nia Long, among many from the beloved “Best Man” film series. Peacock also picked up Best TV Movie for his LeBron James biopic “Shooting Stars.”

“AAFCA is proud to recognize the brightest talents in television,” said AAFCA Co-Founder and President Gil Robertson. “With the entertainment industry in constant flux due to strikeouts, these incredible talents, from icons to breakouts, still deserve recognition for their outstanding contributions to the television landscape. AAFCA is committed to celebrating all of our winners. Congratulations to all!”

Special achievement honors will also go to a number of recipients, including Jennifer Hudson (the We See You Award), Delroy Lindo (the Legacy Award) and five-time Emmy nominee Marla Gibbs (“The Jeffersons”), who will receive the award. Legend. AppleTV+’s “Ted Lasso” will receive the Inclusion Award and CBS’s “SWAT” will receive the Impact Award.

How 'Abbott Elementary' Made Taraji P. Henson's Hollywood Dreams Come True

The full list of winners is as follows:

● BEST TV COMEDY: “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
● BEST NEW PROGRAM: “Mo” (Netflix)
● BEST DOCUMENTARY: “The 1619 Project” (Onyx Collective/Hulu)
● BEST LIMITED SERIES: “The Best Man: The Final Chapters” (Peacock)
● BEST MOVIE FOR TV: “Shooting Stars” (Peacock)
● STAR STAR – Jessica Williams – “Shrinking” (Apple TV+)
● BEST SET: “P-Valley” (Starz)
● BEST WRITING FOR TELEVISION – Quinta Brunson – “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
● BEST TELEVISION DIRECTOR: Mary Lou Belli, Debbie Allen, Tasha Smith, Henry Chan, Jordan E. Cooper –
“The Mrs. Pat Show” (BET+)
● BEST TELEVISION PERFORMANCE (Female) – Niecy Nash-Betts – “Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”
● BEST PERFORMANCE ON TV (Male) – J. Alphonse Nicholson and Nicco Annan – “P-Valley” (Starz)

The exodus of diversity executives from Hollywood exposes the dysfunction of the entire industry: what is the way forward?  |  Exclusive

Leave a Comment