Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks, Carol Littleton to receive honorary Oscars

Actress Angela Bassett, writer-director-actor Mel Brooks and film editor Carol Littleton will receive honorary Oscars and the Sundance Institute’s Michelle Satter will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the 2023 Academy Governors Awards, the Academy announced on Monday.

The winners were chosen by the Academy’s Board of Governors, and the awards will be presented at the 14th annual Governors Awards ceremony, which will take place on November 18 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

Bassett has been nominated for Oscars for “What’s Love Got to Do With It” and “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.” His other movies include “Boyz N the Hood”, “Waiting to Exhale”, “How Stella Got Her Groove Back” and “Soul”.

Brooks won an Oscar for the screenplay for his first film, “The Producers,” and has also been nominated for his screenplay for “Young Frankenstein” and for the title song for “Blazing Saddles.” He also wrote for Sid Caesar’s TV shows, created the TV series “Get Smart” and turned “The Producers” into a long-running, Tony Award-winning Broadway musical. He will be 97 years old when the Governors Awards are held.

Littleton is a veteran film editor whose work includes “Body Heat,” “The Big Chill,” “Places in the Heart” and “ET The Extra-Terrestrial,” for which she was nominated for an Oscar. She also served as governor in the Academy’s film editors’ branch.

Sattler founded the artist programs at the Sundance Institute and has spent more than 40 years at the institute helping launch and sustain the careers of independent filmmakers. She has led Sundance initiatives around the world and oversees the Sundance Collab global learning platform.

Typically, the Board of Governors votes on honorary Oscars in August, after the first meeting of the incoming board. But last year, the vote moved to the final meeting of the outgoing board. The Academy also met that schedule this year.

Academy Board continues its makeover with 11 first-time governors

Leave a Comment