Los Angeles Film Critics 2023 Winners (Updating Live)

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association is announcing the winners of its 2023 awards on Sunday. TheWrap will update the list of winners as they are revealed.

Two international films took the awards for animation, with “The Boy and the Heron” winning in the category and “Robot Dreams” named runner-up.

The first award, Best Cinematography, went to Robbie Ryan for “Poor Things.” The runner-up was Rodrigo Prieto for his work on both “Killers of the Flower Moon” and “Barbie.” The editing award went to Laurent Senechal for “Anatomy of a Fall,” with Jonathan Alberts the runner-up for “All of Us Strangers.”

Composer Mica Levi won the award for music/score for “The Zone of Interest,” with the critics voting special recognition to sound designer Johnnie Burn; Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt were runners-up in that category for “Barbie.” Sarah Greenwood won the production-design award for “Barbie,” with Shona Heath and James Price named runners-up for “Poor Things.”

The LAFCA consists of 60 Los Angeles-based film critics working in print and electronic media.

The critics group is normally more idiosyncratic than Oscar voters, with a handful of similar choices but also a tendency to reward international films and performances. Last year, three LAFCA winners went on to receive Oscars, while another half dozen were nominated.

The winner of the LAFCA best-film award has gone on to win the Oscar for Best Picture only 12 times in the 48 years the group has been voting. Four of those matches have come in the last eight years, with “Spotlight” in 2015, “Moonlight” in 2016, “Parasite” in 2019 and “Everything Everywhere All at Once” in 2022, though “Everything Everywhere” tied with “Tár” in last year’s voting.

The LAFCA winner has been nominated for Best Picture 13 times in the last 14 years. The only exception came in 2020, when the critics’ choice, Steve McQueen’s “Small Axe,” was not eligible for Oscars because it was an anthology series rather than a film.

The other major regional critics group, the New York Film Critics Circle, chose Martin Scorsese’s “Killers of the Flower Moon” as its best of the year on Nov. 30.

The LAFCA previously announced that director Agnieszka Holland will receive its annual Career Achievement Award. The award will be presented at the group’s annual awards event on Jan. 13, 2024.

American Fiction - Barbie - Oppenheimer

The winners:

Best Film:
Best Director:
Best Lead Performance:
Best Supporting Performance:
Best Screenplay:
Best Film Not in the English Language:
Best Documentary/Nonfiction Film:
Best Animation: “The Boy and the Heron”
Runner-up: “Robot Dreams”
Best Cinematography: Robbie Ryan, “Poor Things”
Runner-up: Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon” and “Barbie”
Best Editing: Laurent Senechal, “Anatomy of a Fall”
Runner-up: Jonathan Alberts, “All of Us Strangers”
Best Music/Score: Mica Levi, “The Zone of Interest” (with special recognition to sound designer Johnnie Burn)
Runner-up: Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt, “Barbie”
Best Production Design: Sarah Greenwood, “Barbie”
Runner-up: Shona Heath and James Price, “Poor Things”
New Generation Award:
Douglas E. Edward Experimental Film Award:
Career Achievement Award: Agnieszka Holland

Killers of the Flower Moon

Leave a Comment